EVSU delegates headed by President Dr. Dennis C. de Paz joined other HEIs across Region VIII in the 2022 Regional ASEAN ( Association of Southeast Asian Nations ) Month Celebration with the theme, “ASEAN A.C.T.: Addressing Challenges Together”.

The Opening Ceremony and Cultural Presentation on August 10, 2022 at Leyte Normal University Gymnasium marked the month-long celebration with the attendees wearing national costumes representing the ASEAN countries.

The parade of Flags of ASEAN Member States in a procession were led by State University Presidents as follows:

Brunei    Dr. Evelyn B. Aguirre, University President, Leyte Normal University   
Vietnam   Dr. Marilyn D. Cardoso, University President, Samar State University  
Cambodia   Dr. Prose Ivy G. Yepes, University President, Southern Leyte State University  
Thailand   Dr. Ana Marquiza Quilicot, Director, Internationalization Office, representing Dr. Edgardo E. Tulin, University President, Visayas State University   
Indonesia   Dr. Andres C. Pagatpatan, Jr. University President, Eastern Samar State University   
Singapore   Dr. Cherry I. Ultra, University President, University of Eastern Philippines    
Laos   Dr. Dennis C. De Paz, University President, Eastern Visayas State University   
Philippines   Dr. Norberto C. Olavides, President, Palompon Institute Technology  
Myanmar   Dr. Victor C. Canezo, University President, Biliran Province State University  
Malaysia   Dr. Benjamin L. Pecayo, University President, Northwest Samar State University    
ASEAN Flag Dr. Maximo C. Aljibe, Regional Director, CHED Regional Office VIII

CHED Commisioner Dr. Aldrin A. Darilag graced the occasion with his keynote speech, followed by the different cultural presentations from the different State Universities and Colleges and HEIs.